File Reports

Reporting on Files can be used for both reporting and downloading files which have been uploaded by the users.

Date Filtering Options

There are two different options available for filtering by dates. They include Created On and Updated On.

Keywords Filtering

This report filtering option gives the user the option to return report results that contain the keywords entered.

User Filtering Options

User options can be set to filter based on Created By or Updated By. Each is a list of Project Insight users.

File Filtering Options

File Type can be set to filter based on the type of file (doc, xls, etc.).

Parent Item can be selected to filter on a certain folder including or excluding children on that folder.

Size can be used to further filter based upon a minimum and/or maximum file size.

Version Control Options

Checked Out a date range can be selected to filter when the file was checked out.

User Checked Out a user can be selected from the drop down list to filter only files checked out by this user. The following options are available to further filter the result.

  • Includes files under version control
  • Include files not under version control
  • Includes files currently checked out
  • Include files currently checked in

Group By / Sub Total Filtering Options

The report can be grouped by column names or sorted by column names in either ascending or descending order.You can also stack several choices and group within groups or sort within sorts.

Column Selection Options

Column Selection Filtering Options will control the data fields displayed as columns for the report. Detailed information for setting preferences in the data field column displays is contained in the Page Display Options topic.

Once you run the report the ability to select files to download is now always visible and there is no longer any need to select the option in the filtering options. To select files to download simply check the check-boxes for the desired files, or you can right click on the selection column to "Check All" and that will select all files present in the file report. In addition to download any selected files you may right-click at any time the selection column or you can left-click the header of the selection column. Once that is done you will get a message stating "A link will be emailed to you shortly from which you can download your files."

Save / Share Report

After selecting your display options for the report click on the run report button to view your report. You can continue to update and change the display options and re-run the report as needed until you have your desired results.

On the General tab for saved reports, you can choose to include the report in the Report Menu. This places the report in the drop-down, fly-out menu of the global report navigation. The report will be available on that menu for you and for anybody who also has the report by way of sharing it with them. There may also be an option to save as new report if the report you're using originated from a previously saved report. Save as new will save a new report without overwriting any changes you've made to the previously saved report. Saving as new does not force a name change to the saved report, but it is always a good idea to change the name anyway so that you do not have two different reports with the same name. If the report you are saving was shared to you by another user as the original report creator, the save as new report option is the only option available. You cannot make and save modifications to a report created by another person, but rather you will save your own new report.

The Share tab allows you to share with Groups, Companies and Users. If the report is relevant to multiple users, you may find that Companies or Groups are the best way to make sure that the report is not only shared with all of the appropriate users, but also that any new users added to the Company and/or Group automatically get the shared report.

There is an important distinction between shared users on reports and shared users for scheduled reports which must be understood whenever sharing reports with sensitive data. Shared users accessing a link to the report, whether through the application interface or an email link, will run a query which presents the data based on the specific user's permissions, settings and access rights. A shared user accessing a report which was saved as static data (i.e. spreadsheet or PDF file) when the schedule was run will see the exact same results as the creator of the report because the report was run and saved under the settings of the report creator as static data for the other users to view. This important distinction is re-iterated in the explanation of the Report Output Format in the scheduled report settings.

The Description tab is a reference to any information you'd like to add which may help to explain the purpose of the report in more detail than you would normally include in the simple saved name for the report.

The Schedule tab is used to run the report and send a reminder with a link to the report that was run at the selected interval for the report. If the Report Output Format is Link Reminder (dynamic), the scheduled report is simply a URL/link reminder which will run a query and display the real-time data as a result of the query. It does not save static data from the time of the execution of the scheduled report.

If the Report Output Type is not Link Reminder (dynamic), for example it is a spreadsheet or PDF format, the data is saved as static information at the time of the execution of the report. A shared user accessing the report which was saved as static data when the schedule was run will see the exact same results as the creator of the report because the report was run and saved under the settings of the report creator as static data for the other users to view. It is important to note this distinction because the receiver of the scheduled report may see data in the results which they would not otherwise have access to view.

Online 11/3/2016