Reports

Clicking the Reports icon from the global menu will bring up the Reports section of Project Insight. You will see many tabs which have many different predefined reports under each one. You may start from these predefined reports and then also create your own.

All reports represent real-time Project Insight data, meaning that data output from the report will change as updates to Project Insight information are made. To save the results of any report data as a static file, use the Export to Excel feature and save the report data in a spreadsheet.

Creating Reports

Click any report listed to bring up a detail window. For example, clicking Tasks I'm Assigned as a Resource from the Task tab and the General Reports drop down, will bring up a window like the following.

Customizing the report is simple using the Page Display icon in the top right corner of the page. Instead of seeing all tasks to which you were assigned as a resource for all projects, you could click a specific Active Project by name in the Project Type & Project Options filter list and limit the report to showing tasks you've been assigned for that project alone.

You can also decide which types of data to display using the Column Selections Options. For example, you can choose to include Description and Estimated Cost by moving these column display options from the Available Columns to the Selected Columns.

After selecting your display options for the report click on the run report button to view your report. You can continue to update and change the display options and re-run the report as needed until you have your desired results.

Saving Reports

On the General tab for saved reports, you can choose to include the report in the Report Menu. This places the report in the drop-down, fly-out menu of the global report navigation. The report will be available on that menu for you and for anybody who also has the report by way of sharing it with them. There may also be an option to save as new report if the report you're using originated from a previously saved report. Save as new will save a new report without overwriting any changes you've made to the previously saved report. Saving as new does not force a name change to the saved report, but it is always a good idea to change the name anyway so that you do not have two different reports with the same name. If the report you are saving was shared to you by another user as the original report creator, the save as new report option is the only option available. You cannot make and save modifications to a report created by another person, but rather you will save your own new report.

The Share tab allows you to share with Groups, Companies and Users. If the report is relevant to multiple users, you may find that Companies or Groups are the best way to make sure that the report is not only shared with all of the appropriate users, but also that any new users added to the Company and/or Group automatically get the shared report.

There is an important distinction between shared users on reports and shared users for scheduled reports which must be understood whenever sharing reports with sensitive data. Shared users accessing a link to the report, whether through the application interface or an email link, will run a query which presents the data based on the specific user's permissions, settings and access rights. A shared user accessing a report which was saved as static data (i.e. spreadsheet or PDF file) when the schedule was run will see the exact same results as the creator of the report because the report was run and saved under the settings of the report creator as static data for the other users to view. This important distinction is re-iterated in the explanation of the Report Output Format in the scheduled report settings.

The Description tab is a reference to any information you'd like to add which may help to explain the purpose of the report in more detail than you would normally include in the simple saved name for the report.

Scheduling Reports via Email

The Schedule tab is used to run the report and send a reminder with a link to the report that was run at the selected interval for the report. The email will send to the users included in the Share tab settings. If the Report Output Format is Link Reminder (dynamic), the scheduled report is simply a URL/link reminder which will run a query and display the real-time data as a result of the query. It does not save static data from the time of the execution of the scheduled report.

If the Report Output Type is not Link Reminder (dynamic), for example it is a spreadsheet or PDF format, the data is saved as static information at the time of the execution of the report. A shared user accessing the report which was saved as static data when the schedule was run will see the exact same results as the creator of the report because the report was run and saved under the settings of the report creator as static data for the other users to view. It is important to note this distinction because the receiver of the scheduled report may see data in the results which they would not otherwise have access to view.

Online 11/2/2016