Workflow objects have additional security features beyond the Read, Add, Change, Delete permissions inherited from the parent item or applied directly to the item.

To edit or delete the Workflow name, description and assignee, you have to have the underlying base permissions, and then one of the following must also be true:

  • You are a workflow manager
  • You created the workflow
  • You are assigned to the workflow
  • You are a project manager or project scheduler on the project affiliated to the workflow

In order to "process" the workflow (or fill in data in the steps), you must have Read underlying permissions and one of the following:

  • You are a workflow manager
  • You are assigned to the workflow

NOTE: If you have Change permissions above, then a project manager/project scheduler on the project could add themselves to the workflow if it is part of their project.

In order to open or close the workflow, the user must have Change underlying permissions and one of the following:

  • You are a workflow manager
  • You created the workflow
  • You are a project manager or project scheduler on the project affiliated to the workflow


Online 10/13/2016