You are here: Administration > Communication Settings > Communication Overview

Communication Overview

The communications in Project Insight allow you to carefully configure who can communicate with who within the system. Configuring the communications controls user/resource selection availability, as well as visibility between users in the system within the Directory pages and the interface for looking up a user email address. An example of the communication list is on the Add Users/Resources to Projects page. A project manager is only presented with the list of users that they can communicate with in the list when selecting a project resource from the system user list.

By default the group All Authenticated Users is set to communicate with All Authenticated Users. This means that any user in the system may communicate with any other user. You may choose to leave this default checked and never have to configure communications settings for any other groups, companies or users.

There are two common circumstances which require changes to the communications default in which All Authenticated Users communicate with All Authenticated Users:

1. Customers and vendors are Project Insight users and you do not want them to be able to see all other users' contact information in the My Directory section.

2. You do not want resources who are no longer available to show up as resources for the project managers to assign to projects, even though you may have maintained these resources as inactive users in the system for reporting history. In this case, you may choose to add a group for all active resources and restrict communications within only this active resources group.

Communications rules can be set to meet your specific communications needs. The following relationships illustrate the ways in which communications settings can be achieved:

Company to Company

Company to Group

Company to User

Group to Company

Group to Group

Group to User

User to Company

User to Group

User to User

A specific user's communication settings is the total sum of the settings for the Company within which they are assigned, all of the groups within which they belong and the specific user communication settings that are set for them.

When restricting communications rules, always set Group and/or Company settings as opposed to setting communications on a user-by-user basis. User level settings are only for use in very specific communication settings requirements for unique scenarios which can normally be avoided. It is always best to review requirements and communications structure standards prior to making any communication settings changes.

Note: There are a few exceptions to the communication rules in specific situations as follows:

1. A user with the Invoice Manager role or Time & Expense Report Viewer can see all users regardless of their communications settings when running the Time and Expense Reports. The reason this exception exists is due to the fact that when viewing time and expenses it is important that they see all time and expenses.

2. If a user does not have communication with another user, but both are assigned to the same task by a project manager that can see both users, they will see each others names listed as resources on a specific task, but they will not see each other in their lists typically.

The following example explains how to setup communications for a typical scenario. Your company uses Project Insight and has customers that you want to login to Project Insight. You want all of your company users to see users in all other companies or any other user in the system, but you do not want users in any of your customer companies to see each other.

1. First remove the communication rules for the group All Authenticated Users to the group All Authenticated Users -- this setting allows all users in the system to communicate/interact with each other since every user is always a member of the "All Authenticated Users" group.

2. Add the setting All Authenticated Users can communicate with Your Company and Your Company can communicate with All Authenticated Users. This will allow any user of the system to see your team and your team will be able to see any user in the system.

3. Edit your company and check the box on the General tab marked "Enable company members to automatically communicate with all other companies." This turns on communications relationship between your company and all other companies, meaning any member of your company will always see the users in all other companies, but the members of the other companies will never see each other.

4. Once you have set your communications you can test the settings by using the Impersonate function on the user list to impersonate a user that is attached to a company that is not yours. From their portal click, use the My Insight drop-down menu to select My Directory and you will see only those users with whom this user has permissions to communicate.