You are here: Administration > Users > Add/Edit User > User System Roles

User System Roles

System Roles permissions are set in each user's profile through the following check boxes.

Power User Roles

System Administrator: Grants the user system administration privileges to manage the system and edit permissions for content. This role is responsible for setting up all global data reporting fields for use by the project managers (i.e. project types, project status, custom data fields), the Edit Navigation & Content section, all item-based permissions, all communications permissions and all item display properties. This role is normally also assigned to the User Manager role as well.

Designated Support Contact: Enables the user to send direct inquiries for support and to receive inquiries from team members. This role receives all support requests, and may be used as a role for internal help desk software so that all requests go directly into an email address for the help desk. You may choose to uncheck the "Active" status for this user if it is used as a role for outbound email requests only. Each site is allowed two designated support contacts.

User Manager: Allows the user to manage and add new companies, groups and users. This role is normally assigned to the same users with the System Administrator role. This role alone does not have the ability to view financial information within the system.

Company Manager: Allows the user to manage and add new companies and contracts.

Project Creator: Allows the user to add new projects.

PMO Manager: Allows the user to perform project management task and resource assignment functions without being assigned to the project as a project manager..

Project Template Manager: Allows the user to set projects to the template state if they are also a project creator.

Resource Manager: Allows the user to add resources to projects.

Issue Manager: Allows the user to manage issues.

Expense Report Approver: Allows the user to approve expense reports for themselves and other system members. This user will be available for selection by any user whenever the user saves time sheets for routing through the approval process. This user will also be available for selection as the "Default Expense Sheet Approver" in every user’s profile settings.

Time Sheet Approver: Allows the user to approve time sheets for themselves and other system members. This user will be available for selection by the user whenever the user saves expense sheets for routing through the approval process. This user will also be available for selection as the "Default Time Sheet Approver" in every user’s profile settings.  

Time/Expense/Invoice Manager: Allows the user to create/update and export invoices and manage all time sheets, expense reports and time and billing entries.

Workflow Manager: Allows the user to update workflow data that has been created and/or assigned by/to other users.

Team Member Roles

Project Report Viewer: Allows the user to view project reports and project financial information.

Resource Allocation Viewer: Allows the user to view resource allocation reports.

Time/Expense Report Viewer: Allows the user to view time and expense reports for all resources, companies and projects.

Project Resource: Allows the user to be added as a resource to projects. A project resource can be added to projects and assigned to tasks without being an "Active" resource.

Placeholder Resource: Allows the user to be assigned as a "place holder", this is generally not a real person. These types of users are excluded from availability/capacity calculations, cannot be active).

Edit Profile: This is the lowest level "team member" role and only allows the user to edit their profile online, update tasks and report time against tasks assigned to them. This role is normally allowed for all users so that they can make non-administrative changes to their user settings (i.e. password and nightly report settings).

Active: Allows the user to login when marked "active." Without this role, the user may not log in. An inactive user may still be used on projects as a resource. During the time that this box is unchecked, the user is not counted as a "licensed user."

Video