Using the User.config File to Maintain Special Configuration Settings

The Project Insight Web Application maintains information in the web.config file when uninstalling and reinstalling, but the Windows Services, Web Services and customized applications installed on the server do not. In order to minimize changes required to the configuration of a server each time one of these additional programs is installed and uninstalled, Project Insight makes use of the user.config file.

Prior to loading configuration settings from the applications' default locations for the configuration file, the application will reference this user.config file which is not removed or altered during the installation and upgrade process. Any setting in this file will take precedence over the config files in the other respective programs so that you can maintain your settings for the Web application, Web Services and Windows Services after an uninstall and re-install of those applications.
Online 12/8/2009
Updated on: